2021 Presenter Information

Applied Electromagnetics


Architecture


Gourav Datta
Poster Title:
Ultra Low-Latency Spiking Neural Networks - A Step towards Building a Low Power Brain
Advisor: Peter Beerel
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
gdatta@usc.edu
Resume

Pengmiao Zhang
Poster Title:
Ultra Low-Latency Spiking Neural Networks - A Step towards Building a Low Power Brain
Advisor: Viktor Prasanna

Expected Graduation: 
pengmiao@usc.edu
Resume


Communications


Madhavi Rajiv
Poster Title:
Secure Blind Communication using Rotation and Perturbation with BMOCZ
Advisor: Urbashi Mitra
Expected Graduation: Spring 2025
rajiv@usc.edu
Resume

Mustafa Gursoy
Poster Title:
Derivative-Aided Low Complexity Detection for Molecular Communications
Advisor: Urbashi Mitra
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
mgursoy@usc.edu
Resume

Runzhou Zhang
Poster Title:
Atmospheric Turbulence Resilient Free-Space Optical Communications
Advisor: Alan Willner
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
runzhou@usc.edu

Thomas Choi
Poster Title:
TBD
Advisor: Andreas Molisch

Expected Graduation: Summer 2022
choit@usc.edu
Resume

Chen Peng
Poster Title:
Interference-Constrained Scheduling of a Cognitive Multihop Underwater Acoustic Network
Advisor: Urbashi Mitra

Expected Graduation: Spring 2025
cpeng732@usc.edu

 
 

Controls


Panagiotis Kyriakis
Poster Title:
Learning Hyperbolic Representations of Topological Features
Advisor: Paul Bogdan
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
pkyriaki@usc.edu
Resume

Dongsheng Ding
Poster Title:
Provably efficient safe exploration via primal-dual policy optimization
Advisor: Mihailo Jovanovic
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022

dongshed@usc.edu

Emily Reed
Poster Title:
A scalable distributed dynamical systems approach to compute two important properties of large-scale networks
Advisor: Paul Bogdan
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
emilyree@usc.edu
Resume

Fernando Valladares Monteiro
Poster Title:
Trade-Offs of Autonomous Vehicles Lane Changing Decisions in Congested Highways
Advisor: Petros Ioannou
Expected Graduation: Summer 2022
fvallada@usc.edu
Resume

 
 

Integrated Circuits and Systems


Arash Fayyazi
Poster Title: Hybrid computing fabric for High Throughput Neural network inference
Advisor: Massoud Pedram
Expected Graduation: Fall 2022
fayyazi@usc.edu
Resume

Qiaochu Zhang
Poster Title: TBD
Advisor: Mike Chen
Expected Graduation: Fall 2022
qiaochuz@usc.edu
Resume

Ce Yang
Poster Title: TBD
Advisor: Mike Chen
Expected Graduation: Fall 2022
ceyang@usc.edu
Resume

Mostafa Ayesh
Poster Title:
Non-Uniform Sub-Sampling mmWave Receiver Featuring a Non-Uniform Discrete-Time FIR Filter
Advisor: Mike Chen
Expected Graduation: TBD
abouelka@usc.edu
Resume

Rami Alzahrani
Poster Title: Dynamic Neural Encoding Modeling
Advisor: Alice Parker
Expected Graduation: Fall 2021
ralzahra@usc.edu

Zihan Yin
Poster Title: X-PIXEL
Advisor: Akhilesh Jaiswal

Expected Graduation: Spring 2026
zihanyin@usc.edu

Juzheng Liu
Poster Title:
A 10GS/s 8b 25fJ/c-s 2850um2 Two-Step Time-domain ADC Using Delay-Tracking Pipelined-SAR TDC with 500fs Time Step in 14nm CMOS Technology
Advisor: Mike Chen

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024
juzhengl@usc.edu
Resume

Image

Rezwan Rasul
Poster Title:
A 16kb SRAM Macro with Embedded Matrix-Vector Multiplication Exploiting Passive Gain via MOS Capacitor for Machine Learning Application
Advisor: Mike Chen
Expected Graduation: Fall 2023
rrasul@usc.edu
Resume

Maysara Hamada
Poster Title:
A Continuous-Time Pipeline ADC With a VCO-Based Nonuniform Sampling 2nd Stage
Advisor: Mike Chen
Expected Graduation: Spring 2024
hamada@usc.edu
Resume

 
 

Nano-Science, Nano-Technology, and Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems


Buyun Chen
Poster Title: Memristor-based linear and quadratic programs solver
Advisor: Wei Wu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
buyunche@usc.edu

 
 

Networks


Pooria Namyar
Poster Title:
A Throughput-Centric View of the Performance of Datacenter Topologies
Advisor: Ramesh Govindan
Expected Graduation: Spring 2024
namyar@usc.edu
Resume

Arvin Hekmati
Poster Title:
Simulating COVID-19 Classroom Transmission On a University Campus
Advisor: Bhaskar Krishnamachari
Expected Graduation: Spring 2024
hekmati@usc.edu
Resume

Joni Shaska
Poster Title:
Decentralized Detection over Sensor Networks with State
Advisor: Urbashi Mitra
Expected Graduation: Spring 2024
shaska@usc.edu
Resume

Yijun Liu
Poster Title:
Brain Parcellation with Deepwalk Network Embedding
yijunl@usc.edu


Photonics


Shiyu Li
Poster Title:
Fundamental thickness bounds for wide-field-of-view metalenses
Advisor: Wade Hsu
Expected Graduation: Fall 2025
lishiyu@usc.edu
Resume

Romil Audhkhasi
Poster Title:
Microphotonics for tailored infrared emission
Advisor: Michelle Povinelli
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
raudhkha@usc.edu
Resume

Alok Ghanekar
Poster Title:
Violation of Kirchhoff’s Law of Thermal Radiation with Space-time Modulated Grating
Advisor: Michelle Povinelli
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
aghaneka@usc.edu
Resume

Ramesh Kudalippalliyalil
Poster Title: High Speed Electro-Optic Static Random Access Memory
Advisor: Akhilesh Jaiswal
rameshk@isi.edu

Ho-Chun Lin
Poster Title:
Fast Scattering Matrix Computation for Complex Media and Metasurfaces
Advisor: Wade Hsu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2024
hochunli@usc.edu
Resume

Yunxiang Wang
Poster Title:
TBD
Advisor: Wei Wu

Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
yunxianw@usc.edu

Zeyu Wang
Poster Title:
Multi-spectral Scattering Matrix Tomography
Advisor: Wade Hsu
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
wangzeyu@usc.edu

Image

Regib Ahsan
Poster Title:
Optically activated spiking silicon neurons
Advisor: Rehan Kapadia
Expected Graduation: Fall 2023
ragibahs@usc.edu
Resume


Signal Processing


Digbalay Bose
Poster Title:
Multimodal understanding of Advertisement Videos
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan 
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
dbose@usc.edu
Resume

Victor Ardulov
Poster Title: 
Causal Indicators for Assessing the Truthfulness of Child Speech in Forensic Interviews
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
ardulov@usc.edu
Resume

Zohreh Azizi
Poster Title:
Noise-aware texture-preserving low-light enhancement
Advisor: Jay Kuo
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
zazizi@usc.edu
Resume

Lucine Oganesian
Poster Title:
Learning behaviorally relevant dynamics in neural population spiking activity
Advisor: Maryam Shanechi 
Expected Graduation: Spring 2025
loganesi@usc.edu
Resume

Pratyusha Das
Poster Title:
TBD
Advisor: Antonio Ortega
Expected Graduation: Fall 2022
daspraty@usc.edu
Resume

Yijing Yang
Poster Title:
Object Classification via Successive Subspace Learning with Hard Sample Selection and Attention Localization
Advisor: Jay Kuo
Expected Graduation: Summer 2022
yijingya@usc.edu

Sabyasachee Baruah
Poster Title:
Representation of Professions in Entertainment Media
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
sbaruah@usc.edu
Resume

Shashank Sridhara
Poster Title:
Cylindrical coordinates for LiDAR point cloud compression
Advisor: Antonio Ortega
Expected Graduation: Fall 2025
nelamang@usc.edu
Resume

Raghuveer Peri
Poster Title:
Improving fairness of speaker identity verification systems

Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
rperi@usc.edu
Resume

Yao Zhu
Poster Title:
Detection of CNN-generated images with a low-cost explainable method
Advisor: Jay Kuo
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
yaozhu@usc.edu

Talha Bozkus
Poster Title:
Higher-Order Link Analysis for Solving Multiple-Access MDPs with Large State Spaces

Advisor: Urbashi Mitra
Expected Graduation: Spring 2025
bozkus@usc.edu

Hong-Shuo Chen
Poster Title:
Geographic Fake Image Detection
Advisor: Jay Kuo
Expected Graduation: Fall 2022
hongshuo@usc.edu

Mohammadmahdi Sajedi
Poster Title:
TBD
Advisor: Mahdi Soltanolkotabi
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
sajedi@usc.edu

Zhiruo Zhou
Poster Title:
High Performance Light-Weight Object Tracker
Advisor: Jay Kuo
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
zhiruozh@usc.edu

Xiou Ge
Poster Title:
Complex Space Entity Type Prediction
Advisor: Jay Kuo
Expected Graduation: Spring 2024
xiouge@usc.edu

Jeongmin Chae
Poster Title:
Distributed Online Learning with Multiple Kernels
Advisor: Urbashi Mitra
Expected Graduation: Spring 2025
chaej@usc.edu

Rahul Sharma
Poster Title:
TBD
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation: Fall 2022
rahul.sharma@usc.edu

Sarath Shekkizhar
Poster Title:
Revisiting nearest neighbors from a signal approximation perspective
Advisor: Antonio Ortega

Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
shekkizh@usc.edu
Resume

Yunsong Liu
Poster Title:
TBD
Advisor: Justin Haldar
Expected Graduation: Summer 2022
yunsongl@usc.edu

Jianxiu Li
Poster Title:
Atomic Norm Based Localization and Orientation Estimation for Millimeter-Wave MIMO OFDM Systems
Advisor: Urbashi Mitra

Expected Graduation: Spring 2024
jianxiul@usc.edu

Praneeth Narayanamurthy
Poster Title: Nearly Optimal Robust Subspace Tracking
Advisor: Urbashi Mitra
Postdoctoral Scholar 

praneeth@usc.edu
Image

Zalan Fabian
Poster Title: Data augmentation for deep learning based accelerated MRI reconstruction with limited data
Advisor: Mahdi Soltanolkotabi
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
zfabian@usc.edu
Resume

Amrutha Nadarajan
Poster Title: Learning self supervised representations for bio-behavioral modeling
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
nadaraja@usc.edu

Image

Chi Zhang
Poster Title:
BRAC+: Improved Behavior Regularized Actor Critic for Offline Reinforcement Learning
Advisor: Viktor Prasanna
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
zhan527@usc.edu

 
 

VLSI


Arnab Sanyal 
Poster Title: Neural Network Training with Approximate Logarithmic Computations
Advisor: Peter Beerel & Keith Chugg
Expected Graduation: Spring 2022
arnabsan@usc.edu
Resume

 
 

Parallel and Distributed Computing


Yue Niu
Poster Title: TBD
Advisor: Salman Avestimehr
Expected Graduation: Spring 2023
yueniu@usc.edu
Resume

Mehrdad Kiamari
Poster Title:
TBD
Advisor: Bhaskar Krishnamachari 
Expected Graduation: Fall 2022
kiamari@usc.edu
Resume

Qinyi Luo
Poster Title:
High-Performance Heterogeneity-Aware Asynchronous Decentralized Training
Advisor: Xuehai Qian
Expected Graduation
: Summer 2023
qinyiluo@usc.edu
Resume

Image

Ta-Yang Wang
Poster Title:
Monte Carlo Tree Search for Task Mapping onto Heterogeneous Platforms
Advisor: Viktor Prasanna
Expected Graduation
: Spring 2024
tayangwa@usc.edu

Image

Yuan Meng
Poster Title:
A Hardware-Algorithm Co-Design for Accelerating Fractionally-Strided Convolution
myuan2009@gmail.com

Tian Ye
Poster Title:
FPGA Acceleration of Number Theoretic Transform
Advisor: Viktor Prasanna
Expected Graduation: Spring 2024
tye69227@usc.edu

Image

Sasindu Kangara
Poster Title:
Programmable FPGA-based Memory Controller
Advisor: Viktor Prasanna
Expected Graduation: Spring 2024
kangaram@usc.edu
Resume

Master Students

Neeti Agarwal
Poster Title
:
Hyperscale implementation for GPU design
Area of Research: VLSI
neetiaga@usc.edu

Ravi teja Lakkireddy
Poster Title
: High-speed Robust Differential Sense Amplifier for Optical SRAMs featuring in-memory computing
Advisor: Akhilesh Jaiswal
Area of Research: VLSI
lakkired@usc.edu
Resume

 

Qiwei Chen
Poster Title
: TBD
Area of Research: Controls
qiweic@usc.edu


Undergraduate Students


Ruiyi Shen
Poster Title: TBD
ruiyishe@usc.edu

Yawen Liu
Poster Title: Texture Classification by Crossmodal Congruence
Advisor: Heather Culbertson 
yawenliu@usc.edu
Resume

Azrin Khan
Poster Title: A Novel Threshold-Based Segmentation Method for Quantification of COVID-19 Lung Abnormalities
Advisor: Dominique Duncan
ak_984@usc.edu
Resume

Lorand Cheng
Poster Title: Optimization and Approximation of Robotic Exploration Algorithms Under Different Objective Functions
Advisor: Bhaskar Krishnamachari
lfcheng@usc.edu

Tynan Gangwani
Poster Title: Adaptive Verifiable Coded Computing
Advisor: Murali Annavaram

Research Area: Parallel and Distributed Computing
tgangwan@usc.edu

Image

Hannah Rose
Poster Title: A Network Approach to Characterizing COVID-19 Misinformation in Tweets
Advisor: Paul Bogdan

Research Area: Parallel and Distributed Computing
hnrose@usc.edu
Resume

Radhika Bhuckory
Poster Title: The Signaler-Responder Game: Learning to Communicate using Thompson Sampling
Advisor: Bhaskar Krishnamachari

bhuckory@usc.edu

Image

Published on October 19th, 2021

Last updated on October 25th, 2021