2018 Presenter Information

Applied Electromagnetics


Image

Amir Azemati
Poster Title: Relationship Between Bistatic Radar Scattering Cross Sections and GPS Reflectometry Delay-Doppler Maps Over Vegetated Land in Support of Soil Moisture Retrieval
Advisor: Mahta Moggadam
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
azemati@usc.edu

Aslan Etminan
Poster Title: A Novel Global Optimization Technique for Microwave Imaging Based on the Simulated Annealing and Multi-Directional Search
Advisor: Mahta Moggadam
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
etminan@usc.edu

Image

Kazem Bakian-Dogaheh
Advisor: Alireza Tabatabaeenejad
Expected Graduation Date: TBD
bakiando@usc.edu

Buyun Chen
Poster Title: Memristive Device Optimization for Neuromorphic Computing
Advisor: Wei Wu
buyunche@usc.edu 


Architecture


Amir Erfan Eshratifar
Advisor: Masoud Pedram
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2021
eshratif@usc.edu

Praveen Sharma
Poster Title: Towards Scalable Architectures for Data Intensive Computing
Advisor: Jeffrey Draper
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
praveens@usc.edu

You Wu
Poster Title: GPU Power Virus Generator
Advisor: Xuehai Qian
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
youwu@usc.edu

Jinglei Cheng
Advisor: Xuehai Qian
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2023
chen520@usc.edu

Sourya Dey
Poster Title: A Highly Parallel FPGA Implementation of Sparse Neural Network Training
Advisor: Peter Beerel
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
souryade@usc.edu

Qinyi Luo
Poster Title: Heterogeneity-Aware Decentralized Training
Advisor: Xuehai Qian
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
qinyiluo@usc.edu

Hanieh Hashemi
Advisor: Murali Annavaram
Expected Graduation Date: May 2021
hashemis@usc.edu

Hanqing Zeng
Poster Title: Accurate, Efficient and Scalable Graph Embedding
Advisor: Viktor Prasanna
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2021
zengh@usc.edu


Bio-Electronics and Bio-Optics


Dongyu Chen
Poster Title: A portable optical diagnostic system for malaria screening
Advisor: Andrea Armani
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
dongyuch@usc.edu

Aria Samiei
Poster Title: A DC-Coupled, 3-GΩ Input Impedance, Chopper-Stabilized, Current Feedback, Neural Recording Amplifier
Advisor: Hossein Hashemi
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
samiei@usc.edu


Communications


Qian Yu
Poster Title: Polynomial Coded Computing: Optimal Resiliency, Security, and Privacy
Advisor: Salman Avestimehr
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
dongyuch@usc.edu

Chien-Sheng Yang
Poster Title: Dynamic Coded Computing
Advisor: Salman Avestimehr
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2021
chienshy@usc.edu

Saurav Prakash
Poster Title: Coded Computing for Distributed Graph Analytics
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
sauravpr@usc.edu

Ming-Chun Lee
Advisor: Andreas F. Molisch
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2021
mingchul@usc.edu

Negar Golestani
Poster Title: Magnetic Induction-based Wireless Body Area Networks (MI-WBANs)
Advisor: Mahta Moghaddam
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
ngolesta@usc.edu

Songze Li
Poster Title: GradiVeQ: Vector Quantization for Bandwidth-Efficient Gradient Aggregation in Distributed CNN Training
Advisor: Salman Avestimehr Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2018 songzeli@usc.edu

Kuan-Wen Huang
Poster Title: Hardware Friendly Sparse Neural Net – How much do we lose?
Advisor: Keith Chugg
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
kuanwenh@usc.edu

Mohammadreza Mousavi Kalan
Advisor: Salman Avestimehr Expected Graduation Date: May 2021
mmousavi@usc.edu


Controls


Dongsheng Ding
Advisor: Mihailo Jovanovic
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
dongshed@usc.edu

Hesameddin Mohammadi
Poster TitlePerformance of noisy accelerated first-order algorithms for strongly convex optimization problems
Advisor: Mihailo Jovanovic
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
hesamedm@usc.edu

Aristotelis Papadopoulos
Advisor: Petros Ioannou
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2021
aristotp@usc.edu

Mukul Gagrani
Poster TitleLearning to Control Unknown Markov Decision Processes: A THompson Sampling Approach
Advisor: Ashutosh Nayyar
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
mgagrani@usc.edu

Gaurav Gupta
Advisor: Paul Bogdan
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2021
ggaurav@usc.edu

Jayson Sia
Poster Title: PMU Change Point Detection of Imminent Voltage Collapse and Stealthy Attacks
Advisor: Edmond Jonckheere and Paul Bogdan
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
jsia@usc.edu

Georgios Lymperopoulos
Poster Title: Adaptive Control of a Multi-Zone HVAC System
Advisor: Petros Ioannou
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
lymperop@usc.edu

Sepideh Hassan Moghaddam
Poster Title: Analysis, Design, and Optimization of Large-Scale Networks of Dynamical Systems
Advisor: Mihailo Jovanovic
Expected Graduation Date: May 2019
hassanmo@usc.edu


Energy


Amirhossein Esmaili
Poster: Energy-Constrained Scheduling of Task Graphs with End-to-End Deadlines in MPSoC Platforms Utilizing Imprecise Computations 
Advisor: Massoud Pedram
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
esmailid@usc.edu

Athanasios Rompokos
Advisor: Viktor Prasanna
Expected Graduation Date: Summer 2022
rompokos@usc.edu

Chung Ming Cheung
Poster: Behind-the-Meter Solar Generation Disaggregation using Consumer Mixture Models
Advisor: Viktor Prasanna
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
chungmin@usc.edu

Muhammad Rizwan Saeed
Poster: Entity-specific Relevance Metric 
Advisor: Viktor Prasanna
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
saeedm@usc.edu


Integrated Circuits and Systems


Tzu-Fan Wu
Poster: Noise-Shaped Nonuniform Sampling Analog-To-Digital Converter Using Phase-Domain Level Crossing
Advisor: Mike Shuo-Wei Chen
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
tzufanwu@usc.edu

Mahdi Nazemi
Poster: Compressing Deep Neural Networks through Boolean Logic Minimization
Advisor: Massoud Pedram
Expected Graduation Date: Summer 2019
mnazemi@usc.edu

Mostafa Ayesh
Poster: An Ultra-Low-Power 8-bit SAR ADC For Bio-Signals
Advisor: Dina El-Damak
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
abouelka@usc.edu

Samer Idres
PosterSilicon Nitride Integrated Photonics Components at Visible Wavelength Range
Advisor: Hossein Hashemi
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
idres@usc.edu

Masashi Yamagata
Poster: Acoustic RF Signal Processing
Advisor: Hossein Hashemi
myamagat@usc.edu

SungWon Chung
PosterAn Energy-Efficient Low-Loss Thermo-Optic Phase Shifter in Silicon
Advisor: Viktor Prasanna
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
chungsun@usc.edu

Makoto Nakai
Poster: Silicon Photonics Devices in a Commercial Foundry Process
Advisor: Hossein Hashemi
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
mn_158@usc.edu

Pingyue Song
Poster TitleCMOS Reconfigurable RF BPF with Adjustable Transmission Zeros for SAW-Less SDR Receivers
Advisor: Hossein Hashemi
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
pingyues@usc.edu

Jaewon Nam
Poster TitleADC-based Wireline Equalizer
Advisor: Mike Shuo-Wei Chen
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
jaewon.nam@usc.edu

Mohsen Hassanpourghadi
Advisor: Mike Shuo-Wei Chen
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
mhassanp@usc.edu

Qiaochu Zhang
Poster: A Digital Phase Locked Loop Design Assisted with Machine Learning
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
qiaochuz@usc.edu

Rasul Rezwan A
Poster TitleA Time Multiplexed Network Architecture for Large Scale Neuromorphic Computing
Advisor: Mike Shuo-Wei Chen
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2021
rrasul@usc.edu

Aoyang Zhang
Advisor: Mike Shuo-Wei Chen
aoyangzh@usc.edu

Constantine Sideris
Poster TitleAnalog/RF Circuits, Microsystems, and Electromagnetics (ACME) Lab Research Overview
csideris@usc.edu

 
 

Nano-Science, Nano-Technology, and Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems


Debarghya Sarkar
Poster: Future 3D Multifunctional Integrated Circuits: Building Up with Materials and Devices
Advisor: Rehan Kapadia
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
dsarkar@usc.edu

Jun Tao
Advisor: Rehan Kapadia
juntao@usc.edu

Xiaodong Yan
Poster: Single-shot real-time ultrafast video recording of optical chaotic systems
Advisor: Han Wang
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
xiaodony@usc.edu

Hefei Liu
Advisor: Han Wang
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
hefeiliu@usc.edu

Huan Zhao
Advisor: Han Wang
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
huanzhao@usc.edu

Hongyu Fu
PosterFlexible CMOS integrated circuits based on carbon nanotube thin-film transistors
Advisor:
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
hongyufu@usc.edu

Deming Meng
Poster:
 Full-Color Reflective Display Enabled by Switchable Metasurfaces 
Advisor: Wei Wu
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
demingme@usc.edu

Pan Hu
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2023
panhu@usc.edu

Hyun Uk Chae
Poster:
 Modification of the Electrochemical Reaction Rate by Injection of Hot Electrons at a Metal-Insulator-Semiconductor Interface 
Advisor: Rehan Kapadia
hyunukch@usc.edu

Hao Yang
Poster: The Effect of Crystallinity of Switching Layer Material on Memristive Device
Advisor: Wei Wu
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2021
yang676@usc.edu

Tse-Hsien Ou
Poster: 
Nanogap Electrochemical Cells on Methanol Electrolysis for Fake Alcoholic Beverages
Advisor: Wei Wu
Expected Graduation Date: Summer 2023
tsehsieo@usc.edu

 

Networks


Jason Tran
Advisor: Bhaskar Krishnamachari
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
jasontra@usc.edu

Hang Qiu
Poster: Augmented Vehicular Reality
Advisor: Han Wang
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
hangqiu@usc.edu


Photonics


Ahmed Morsy
PosterHigh-temperature optothermal memory
Advisor: Michelle Povinelli
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
morsy@usc.edu

Yunxiang Wang
Advisor: Wei Wu
yunxianw@usc.edu


Signal Processing


Sandeep Nallan Chakravarthula
Poster: Modeling Interpersonal Influence of Verbal Behavior in Couples Therapy Dyadic Interactions
Advisor: Patayiotis Georgiou
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
nallanch@usc.edu

Tae Hyung Kim
Advisor: Justin P. Haldar
Expected Graduation Date: August 2019
taehyung@usc.edu

Mona Sarabi
Advisor: Yonggang Shi
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
sharifis@usc.edu

Mehdi Jafarnia Jahromi
Advisor: Rahul Jain
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
mjafarni@usc.edu

Omid Sani
Poster: Learning dynamic neural encoding models with behaviorally-relevant latent states
Advisor: Maryam Shanechi
Expected Graduation Date: Summer 2020
ghasemsa@usc.edu

Manoj Kumar
PosterImproving Semi-Supervised Classification for Low-Resource Speech Interaction Applications
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayan
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
prabakar@usc.edu

Arindam Jati
Poster: An Unsupervised Neural Prediction Framework for Learning Speaker Embeddings using Recurrent Neural Networks
Advisor: Panayiotis Georgiou
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
jati@usc.edu

Pavlos Papadopoulos
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2018
ppapadop@usc.edu

MD Nasir
Poster: Towards an Unsupervised Entrainment Distance in Conversational Speech using Deep Neural Networks
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
mdnasir@usc.edu

Olaoluwa Adigun
Advisor: Bart Kosko
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
adigun@usc.edu

Nitin Sadras
Advisor: Maryam Shanechi
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
nsadras@usc.edu

Rajat Hebbar
PosterImproving Gender Identification in Movie Audio using Cross-Domain Data
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
rajatheb@usc.edu

Yongwan Lim
Poster: 3D Dynamic MRI of the Vocal Tract During Natural Speech
Advisor: Krishna Nayak
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
yongwanl@usc.edu

Keng-Shih Lu
Advisor: Antonio Ortega
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
kengshil@usc.edu

Haoqi Li
Advisor: Panayiotis Georgiou
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
haoqili@usc.edu

Nikolaos Flemotomos
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2021
flemotom@usc.edu

Amrutha Nadarajan
PosterSpeaker Agnostic Foreground Detection
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
nadaraja@usc.edu

Krishna Somandepalli
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2020
somandep@usc.edu

Ye Wang
Advisor: C.-C. Jay Kuo
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2019
wang316@usc.edu

Ruchir Travadi
PosterDiscriminative Training for the Total Variability Model
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2018
travadi@usc.edu

Taejin Park
PosterSpeaker diarization with speaker characteristics and lexical information
Advisor: Panayiotis Georgiou
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2021
taejinpa@usc.edu

Yueru Chen
Poster: Autonomous Imaging-Based Drone Monitoring
Advisor: C.-C. Jay Kuo
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
yueruche@usc.edu

Ahsan Javed
Advisor: Krishna Nayak
Expected Graduation Date: Summer 2019
ahsanjav@usc.edu

Raghuveer Peri
Poster TitleLaughter detection in multi-party conversations
Advisor: Shrikanth Narayanan
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
rperi@usc.edu

Hossein Shahabi
Poster: Multilayer Epileptogenic Networks for Seizure Localization
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
hshahabi@usc.edu

Andrew Li
Poster Title: A Fingerprint of the Epileptogenic Zone
Advisor: Richard Leahy
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
jli981@usc.edu


VLSI


Ghasem Pasandi
PosterPBMap: A Path Balancing Technology Mapping Algorithm for Single Flux Quantum Circuits 
Advisor: Massoud Pedram
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2020
pasandi@usc.edu

Arash Fayyazi
PosterPhysical Characteristics Aware Ex-Situ Training Framework for Inverter-Based Memristive Neuromorphic Circuits
Advisor: Massoud Pedram
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2022
fayyazi@usc.edu

Huimei Cheng
PosterPBMap: A Path Balancing Technology Mapping Algorithm for Single Flux Quantum Circuits 
Advisor: Peter Beerel
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2021
huimeich@usc.edu

Ramy Tadros
PosterPhysical Characteristics Aware Ex-Situ Training Framework for Inverter-Based Memristive Neuromorphic Circuits
Advisor: Peter Beerel
Expected Graduation Date: Spring 2019
rtadros@usc.edu


Undergraduate Students


Arynn Gallegos
Poster: Magnetic Nanoparticle Coated Cavities for Enhancement and Modulation of Non-Linear Optical Processes
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2021
aogalleg@usc.edu

Aravind Krishnan
Poster: Tunable Opto-thermophoretic assembly of nanoparticles
Specialization: Photonics
Advisor: Michelle Povinelli
Expected Graduation Date: Fall 2018
aravindk@usc.edu