On September 21, 2022, the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at USC Viterbi hosted a meeting of regional ECE department chairs to discuss a response to the recently enacted CHIPS Act.

The group identified opportunities for teaming at the regional level, including synergies and complementary capabilities. Presentations, which can be seen below, included overviews of department resources, both human and physical, as they relate to microelectronics and computing. Educational programs with an emphasis in microelectronics and computing were also discussed.

Meeting Invitation

Attending Chairs

USC Viterbi – Electrical and Computer Engineering
Co-Chair – Tony Levi

Co-Chair – Richard Leahy
View the USC Presentation

UCSD – Electrical and Computer Engineering
Chair – Bill Lin
View the UCSD Presentation

UCI – Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Chancellor’s Professor of EE&CS – Payam Heydari (Chair: A. Lee Swindlehurst)
View the UCI Presentation 

UCR – Electrical and Computer Engineering
Chair – Ertem Tuncel
View the UCR Presentation
UCR Nanofabrication Facility Overview 
UCR Center for Nanoscale Science and Engineering-Ion Beam Lab

UCSB – Electrical and Computer Engineering
Vice Chair – Luke Theogarajan (ECE Chair: B.S. Manjunath)
View the UCSB Presentation 

Caltech – Engineering and Applied Science
Azita Emami
View the Caltech Presentation

UCLA – Electrical and Computer Engineering
Chair – C.K. Ken Yang
View the UCLA Presentation

Published on October 3rd, 2022

Last updated on August 2nd, 2023