Levi and Leahy

Richard M. Leahy — Chair, Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Welcome to the Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering!

USC began teaching electrical engineering more than a century ago, when the field was widely considered a subset of physics. Today our work is vitally important and critical to the advancement of the information age. As our department charges into its second century of excellence, we are defining the forefront of research in a number of important areas. These include: circuits; antenna networks; bio-signal processing; computer architecture; very large-scale integration and computer-aided design; computer networks; control systems; high-speed switching architectures; signal, image and multimedia processing; nanotechnology; optical communications; photonics; and quantum information processing.

Among our distinguished faculty are the visionary leaders of the university, including Presidents Emeritus Max Nikias and Steven Sample. We are also proud to claim Qualcomm and Linkabit co-founder Andrew J. Viterbi as a faculty member; the engineering school bears his name, and Viterbi is the holder of the National Medal of Science and was a Millennium Prize Laureate. Our department is also home to thirteen other National Academy of Engineering members.

We’re proud of our department’s distinguished history and our vital and innovative faculty. Please take a few minutes to explore some of the highlights of their work.

Published on July 8th, 2016

Last updated on July 1st, 2024