Eun Sok Kim Appointed to William M. Hogue Professorship, J. Joshua Yang to Arthur B. Freeman Professorship

February 9, 2024

Two professors of electrical and computer engineering in the USC Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering have been appointed to endowed professorships. Eun Sok Kim was appointed to the William M. Hogue Professorship in Electrical and Computer Engineering, while J. Joshua Yang was appointed to the Arthur B. Freeman Professorship in Engineering.

Both appointments began January 1, 2024.

Image of Prof. Eun Sok Kim.

Eun Sok Kim

Eun Sok Kim

Eun Sok Kim earned his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1990 and is an expert in acoustic, piezoelectric and vibration-energy-harvesting MEMS. He has published a textbook entitled “Fundamentals of Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS),” about 270 refereed papers, and has 19 issued US patents (along with 5 pending US patents) in the field. From July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2018, he served as chair of ECE-Electrophysics. He is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and the Institute of Physics (IOP). He serves as an editor for IEEE/ASME Journal of Microelectromechanical Systems. He has been awarded a Research Initiation Award (1991-1993) and a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award (1995-1999) by National Science Foundation. He received the Outstanding EE Faculty of the Year Award at the University of Hawaii in May 1996 before joining USC in Fall of 1999. In 2006 he received the IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering 2006 Best New Application Paper Award.

J. Joshua Yang

Image of Prof. J. Joshua Yang.

J. Joshua Yang

J. Joshua Yang earned his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2007 and later joined USC in 2020 following a successful tenure at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Specializing in Post-CMOS hardware for neuromorphic computing, machine learning, and artificial intelligence, Dr. Yang has published a number of groundbreaking research papers in these domains. His innovative work has led to the granting of 120 US patents, fostering the growth of a thriving startup focused on AI/ML chips. Dr. Yang is the Founding Chair of the IEEE Neuromorphic Computing Technical Committee. He has been honored with the Powell Faculty Research Award and recognition as a distinguished faculty lecturer at UMass, culminating in the UMass Chancellor’s Medal, the institution’s highest honor. Currently, Dr. Yang serves as the director of the Airforce sponsored Center of Excellence on Neuromorphic Computing and contributes his expertise to various international journals and conferences as a member of their Advisory Boards. Notably, he holds the position of associate editor of Science Advances. Recognized as a Clarivate™ Highly Cited Researcher and listed among the Top Best Scientists in the Electronics and Electrical Engineering category by, Dr. Yang was elected an IEEE Fellow and a National Academy of Inventors Fellow for his contributions to resistive switching materials and devices for nonvolatile memory and neuromorphic computing.

Published on February 9th, 2024

Last updated on February 12th, 2024